Cat Scan

News… and then some.

Homemade ravioli or: You wish you were this Italian

with one comment

BEST CHRISTMAS DINNER EVER... and totally homemade! WIN!

By Cat Viglienzoni — April 1, 2011

I was putting together a set of photos for a classmate’s cooking show, and it coincided oh-so-nicely with our slideshow presentation in another class.

The backstory: Ever since I can remember, our family has made homemade ravioli for Christmas and Easter. And though I’m not home for Easter anymore, I get to enjoy these yummy Italian staples at our Christmas Day lunch/dinner. (See photo at left.)

One thing I learned is that there is a mini version of ravioli called ‘ravioletti’. That’s really cute. But I do wonder – where does one draw the line for ‘ravioli’ versus ‘ravioletti’? Is there a size range? A quota? Write it in the comments if you know because I’d be curious to find out.

Also… some say ravioli originated in Russia. I admit I have not researched its history, but I’ll still call that blasphemy. I prefer the Wikipedia version (citing the Oxford Companion to Food, so I’ll go with it) that says the first mention of the ravioli appears in the writings of Francesco di Marco Datini, a merchant of Prato in the 14th century.

This article also goes on to talk about Chef Boyardee and canned ravioli. A note in case you were planning on bringing this up with an Italian: you’re probably in danger of being slapped if you bring that up in the context of talking about real pasta. And yes, I’ve tried them and yes, they were gross. But really, once you’ve had homemade ones you can’t have cheap ones without being sad afterward.

Anyway, here is a link to the slideshow I made of the experience (a video, alas, has not yet been documented). I included some captions explaining the process. *Disclaimer: These were taken over a couple years, so no, no one got a haircut during the ravioli-making process. (Though mine does look different now.)*

###

Written by Cat Viglienzoni

April 1, 2011 at 1:27 PM

Posted in Food & Drink

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] family makes our traditional Christmas Day dinner of homemade ravioli. I know I’ve already blogged about them before, but this time I have a better documentation of the process, courtesy of the TV station I work […]


Leave a Reply

