Cat Scan

News… and then some.

A morning working at WERS 88.9 FM News

leave a comment »

By Cat Viglienzoni — April 28, 2011

For the past school year (since fall semester), I’ve been the voice of the morning news (or, one of the voices) at WERS 88.9 FM in Boston. I went from being an anchor in the fall to an anchor/producer for this semester.

So, the morning starts (for me) at 4:30 (because I have to commute in), and first broadcast for the morning commute news is just before 6:30. Then it’s every half hour until 9. On the half hour we do a 1-min broadcast (not including traffic) with reader stories, and on the hour we’ll do a 2-min newscast that incorporates sound clips.

I both anchor and produce, so I’ll be the only one in the newsroom the whole shift. I’m responsible for writing the newscasts, finding and uploading sound clips and reporter pieces, working the control board, communicating with the on-air DJ to make sure I’m ready to go up for the broadcast at the right time, delivering the broadcasts, tweeting (yes, we have a Twitter… @WERSNEWS), updating traffic and weather, reading and signing off underwriting, and packaging the final newscast for the web.

Here are the broadcasts from this morning (April 28th). You’ll notice that there is no 7am broadcast. That’s because the stories were the same as the 9. Not ideal, but we do not have reporters on the morning shifts gathering sound (and really, not too many people are out talking at 6am), so we get our morning sound from the AP. And they usually don’t put up enough content that’s relevant to our listeners to fill more than 2 hour airchecks. So I didn’t bother repeating it. The weather, unfortunately, stayed the same, so I apologize if it’s like a broken record.

I also edited out the traffic on some of the airchecks because you get the idea. You can listen here, or by clicking on the link to download the newscasts.

The 6:30:

The 7:30:

The 8:00:

The 8:30:

And finally, the 9:00:

They had a camera in the on-air news studio so a curious listener could watch us deliver the news during live music week this spring. But I don’t see the link anymore on the home page, so my guess is that you no longer can watch me deftly manipulate the board faders and press the sound buttons on the computers and scroll through my script on the computer screen while speaking into a dangling microphone (or dance to whatever song is on before my news break…). There was also a 5-10 second delay on the video anyway, so it would look funny.

I should mention that before I worked as an anchor and producer, I started out at the beginning of last summer as a reporter (afternoons AND mornings), web writer, and public affairs reporter. You can check out my web writing by going to the WERS News website and searching my name, or by clicking here. Some of them were pieces I did that incorporated my reporter packages into an accompanying web story.

I’m going to miss it when I graduate and can’t broadcast there anymore!

###

Written by Cat Viglienzoni

April 28, 2011 at 5:25 PM

Posted in My Work, Radio

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

