Cat Scan

News… and then some.

The Secret Life of Chocolate: Part 1

with one comment

By Cat Viglienzoni — May 6, 2011

It’s FINALLY HERE! And by ‘it’ I mean the chocolate show that has been in the works since February.

This show was my primary academic time commitment this semester (outside of my internship). It was my show for my Broadcast Practicum class, my capstone for my journalism major. We were given the assignment to produce a show that was roughly a half hour long, with four blocks, and at least four reporters (two live and two self-contained). In our class, our teacher assigned the positions for each show.

This block gives a (very, very condensed) version of chocolate’s history before we get into some of the logistics behind making chocolate (including, yes, a demo from one of my reporters, the cooking host extraordinaire Justine Frostad). I profile Chocolee Chocolates in the South End of Boston and the chocolate classes that owner Lee Napoli holds there.

Without further ado, I introduce you to Part 1 of The Secret Life of Chocolate. (This was the A block of my show.)

I did nearly everything for my show – all the shooting and graphics, and nearly all the writing and editing – as well as four additional reporter pieces for the show (one at the end of each block). And because the material was so specialized, it was a challenge sometimes setting up and getting to everything while also trying to keep on top of my other schoolwork. I also one-man-banded all of the shooting, with the exception of about two cases (where my reporters were on camera and I was behind the lens).

One of the challenges I faced in the first part of the show was how to visually deal with the lack of video for the history portion. Because television obviously relies so much on visuals, I couldn’t leave the same shot (the anchors talking) on the screen for too long. I ended up making graphics, but if I’d had more time I’d have found a way to give them more motion so it was less static. Overall, I felt my writing for the show could have been better – I didn’t get to spend as much time on that as I would have liked.

Overall, it looks WAY better than I thought it would though. Please check out the rest of the parts on the other Secret Life of Chocolate blog posts – there’s interesting material in each block!

###

Written by Cat Viglienzoni

May 6, 2011 at 11:21 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] out the last part of the show! (And Parts 1 and 2 if you haven’t […]


Leave a Reply

