Cat Scan

News… and then some.

The Secret Life of Chocolate: Part 2

with one comment

By Cat Viglienzoni — May 6, 2011

Presumably you’ve already seen Part 1 of this show – now I’ll introduce you to the B block of the show. In Part 2, I focus on where chocolate comes from.

Reporter Anaridis Rodriguez joins in live to talk about the Cacao Genome Database, which is the online site for the Cacao Genome Project. It includes a sequenced and annotated genome that researchers can use. Howard-Yana Shapiro breaks down what the project means for the cacao plant and the farmers who grow it. MIT Lab for Chocolate Science president Anna Waldman-Brown talks about her experience on the cacao co-op Kallari in Ecuador, and reporter Lindsay Burrill takes you behind the scenes at Taza Chocolate Factory in Somerville, MA. I round out the block with a trip to Blue Tierra Chocolate Cafe in South Boston, where owner Jen Turner does some of the most interesting chocolate decorating I’ve ever seen.

Challenges in this block were keeping the show flowing because it was such a package-heavy block. I had to do a lot of cutting out, especially in the reporter pieces after they came in. Also, keeping it from getting boring was key (and I hope I succeeded…. it’s hard for me to tell because I’m such a science junkie!). I’m still surprised with the content I got though – especially finding the cacao plant to shoot at the Wellesley College Botanic Gardens. It’s hard to find actual cacao plants in these parts…

Check out my posts on the next two parts of the series!

###

Written by Cat Viglienzoni

May 7, 2011 at 12:20 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] out the last part of the show! (And Parts 1 and 2 if you haven’t […]


Leave a Reply

