Cat Scan

News… and then some.

The Secret Life of Chocolate: Part 3

leave a comment »

By Cat Viglienzoni — May 7, 2011

Part 3 (the C block) of The Secret Life of Chocolate localizes chocolate to Boston (where Emerson College is located), and as it turns out, chocolate actually goes WAY back in Beantown. Reporter Megan Lamontagne (who can do awesome standups) joins in live to take us to the locations of a few of history’s chocolate hotspots. I also hopped on one of the chocolate walking tours (yes, such things exist… in fact, there are two companies that do them in Boston, if you can believe there’s that kind of a demand!) to see what they had to offer. I round out the block by showing you how Serenade Chocolatier in Brookline, MA makes 14-inch-tall candy-filled Easter eggs.

I was glad I got to localize this block, because Boston really does have a diverse range of chocolate connections. I really only touched on some of them – there are quite a few. One thing I’d change – and it was just because I ran out of time – was I’d find other clips to add to the beginning and end of Megan’s package so the live shot wouldn’t look like a jump from one place to another. That’s me being critical of my work. She was great though – it was SO COLD when we shot her standups and I had her outside for well over an hour traipsing around downtown Boston.

Check out the last part of the show! (And Parts 1 and 2 if you haven’t already!)

###

Written by Cat Viglienzoni

May 7, 2011 at 12:43 AM

Leave a Reply

