Cat Scan

News… and then some.

SEIU Jobs Rally at Copley Square: EIV News, Spring 2011

leave a comment »

By Cat Viglienzoni – May 18, 2011

For this piece, I went out and covered a rally hosted by the local SEIU branch that called for more full-time jobs and better pay.  The rally was on Saturday, February 12, 2011.

This piece aired on EIV News at 9 on February 16, 2011.

SEIU Jobs Rally from EIVTV on Vimeo.

This piece I did as a one-man-band journalist, so I was running all over the place.

Things I’d have done differently: I would have had someone else voice the translation of her quote. However, since I was producing this on my own, we had to make do with me.  I also should have gotten to the natural sound (like the crowd) sooner.

I also would have liked to get the employer’s side of the story – I think this piece could have benefited from that.

On a more personal critique level, I also should have worn a jacket in my standup, since it was absolutely FREEZING out, but in the course of my reporting, it had gotten some sort of dirt/white powder on it (I think it was from the salt on the ground to break up the ice?), so I had to make do with just my blazer and the shirt for the standup. It looks weird. And if I look frozen to the bone… well, I couldn’t feel my feet again properly for a couple hours after I got home from the rally. One of those “the temps aren’t that cold but the wind chill is brutal” days.

So, all in all, not a horrible piece, but not a great one.

###

Written by Cat Viglienzoni

May 18, 2011 at 10:53 PM

Leave a Reply

