Cat Scan

News… and then some.

Read for the Record – Fall 2010

leave a comment »

By Cat Viglienzoni — May 24, 2011

I don’t know if you’ve gotten this from the earlier post on being the library poster child but… I like reading. A lot.

So you can imagine that covering a story on adorable children reading books to set a record (and promote literacy) was a lot of fun for me to go do. This piece I did for class in the fall last year about the Read for the Record project put on by Jumpstart. The project aims to get the most children to read the same book on the same day to promote literacy.

This was the fourth piece I’d ever done. Disclosure again: I did have to re-shoot the standup.

This was for class, so I didn’t air it anywhere.

I did this piece with my classmate Greg Burud.

Things I’d change: I edited some shots on movements, which isn’t good to do (it looks just a bit off). We also should have had the interviewees facing the camera more instead of getting a profile shot. I also should have boosted the nat sound track more so that the background noise was more audible throughout.

And if you’re curious, this year’s Read for the Record is on October 6, 2011 and children will read Llama, Llama Red Pajama, which I think you should read because that title is pretty amazing.

###

Written by Cat Viglienzoni

May 24, 2011 at 10:34 PM

Leave a Reply

