Cat Scan

News… and then some.

Handicap Stickers PKG – EIV News, Spring 2011

leave a comment »

By Cat Viglienzoni – June 13, 2011

This piece I did on a local artist in Cambridge who created a sticker that could be placed on a handicap sign to juxtapose two different views of what “disability” is.

I did this piece for EIV News, but I had to reshoot the standup, so this piece doesn’t have the lower-thirds and EIV logo that the original did.

Aside from the standup, everything was shot and edited by me.

Things I’d do differently next time include mainly using a tripod when shooting the b-roll. Biggest mistake ever. Those cameras are too small to get good still shots without a tripod (the general rule seems to be the smaller the camera the harder it is to hold it steady), and I don’t have steady hands to begin with.

They’re pretty much the same, but here is the original. It aired on EIV News at 9 on March 16, 2011.

Handicap Stickers from EIVTV on Vimeo.

Also, on the first standup, I had a friend helping me shoot. Unfortunately, he is not a journalism major and didn’t know how to focus the camera correctly, so the standup was blurry. So I had to reshoot that later on when I re-edited the piece for class, but I didn’t have time to get that done before EIV ran the first version. That was a bummer.

So again, another piece with some great aspects, but it’s not my best.

###

Written by Cat Viglienzoni

June 13, 2011 at 11:20 PM

Leave a Reply

