Cat Scan

News… and then some.

Dark Chocolate Macaroon Brownies

leave a comment »

I was too excited to wait and get my camera, so I did a taste-test on the corner.

By Cat Viglienzoni — August 21, 2011

I love brownies. Pretty much any type, but in general, the more dark chocolate, the better. And Sundays are my baking days (my co-workers on Mondays get to start the week with treats!).

I also love brownies that have toppings. Frosting, cheesecake, whatever. So when I came across this recipe in a cookbook I was given, I couldn’t resist trying them out.

I also learned something: you don’t have to buy every single ingredient listed. Substitutions are excellent for less-common ingredients.

Like cake flour, for example. The recipe calls for 3 TBSP of it. Well, I didn’t have cake flour, and I didn’t want to buy an entire thing of cake flour to use 3 TBSP of it and then have it sit around on the shelf.

So I did a search for cake flour substitutes, and I found this one, which (when scaled down) said 1/4 cup flour and 1 TBSP cornstarch would create a decent cake flour substitute. Take 3 TBSP of that and you’re good to go.

So anyway, here’s the recipe. Yes, it uses boxed mix, don’t criticize me. If you have a good brownie recipe you can make from scratch, I’m sure it’ll work, since these are basically regular brownies with a topping.

Dark Chocolate Macaroon Brownies:

1 box dark chocolate brownie mix (I’m partial to Betty Crocker, but any standard size brand will do.)

2 eggs

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup chocolate milk (used instead of traditional water in the brownie mix… which I thought was a clever way to sneak more chocolate into the brownies)

Chocolate chips (I’m not going to limit you here – if you’re like me, go to town. The original recipe said 1/3 cup of mini chocolate chips.)

Mix all those together, put into a greased baking pan (I use a 13×9 so that I can give more people brownies, but the original said to use 9×9), and bake at 350F for about 20 minutes. Remove from the oven, then turn the oven up to 375F.

Then, in a saucepan, put:

3 cups sweetened shredded baking coconut

3/4 cup cream of coconut (look in the international foods aisle for this… I didn’t even know it existed)

4 egg whites

3 TBSP cake flour (or substitute – see above)

Pinch salt

Mix those for about 5 minutes over medium heat (be sure to continue mixing, or you’ll be like me and cleaning a layer of coconut off the bottom of the pan), then spread over the warm brownies. Put the brownies back in the oven for about 10-15 minutes or until the edges are lightly toasted. I did 15 minutes and mine came out a little too done, I think.

Let the pan cool on a wire rack, if you have one. (I don’t have one, so I left it on the stove and nothing terrible happened.)

And then consume to your heart’s content… preferably with a glass of milk.

My verdict: They’re good brownies, but I need to find a way to cook them less throughout this whole process so they stay chewier. I’m a fan of the combination of the coconut and the brownie though… two things I love! I think next time I’m going to dress them up a bit more by drizzling melted chocolate over the top when I’m done too. Then they will truly resemble macaroons!

###

Written by Cat Viglienzoni

August 21, 2011 at 6:03 PM

Leave a Reply

