Cat Scan

News… and then some.

Owl Cupcakes: or, Happy Halloween!

with 3 comments

By Cat Viglienzoni — October 31, 2011

Happy Halloween! I got too old for trick-or-treating a long time ago (and let’s face it, with my new work schedule that’s not exactly an option anyway), but that doesn’t mean I’m not allowed to celebrate and eat and excessive amount of sugar on All Hallows Eve.

Happily, Halloween this year coincided with a Monday, the day I usually bake lots of goodies for work anyway. And when I saw this adorable recipe for owl cupcakes, I just couldn’t resist.

A Sunday afternoon's worth of owl cupcakes.

I decided to make the ones as shown with both yellow and chocolate mix, but then I got the idea to make a double batch of snowy owls as well… and suddenly I had 48 cupcakes to make. And if you’ve never had to halve 96 Oreos without disturbing the stuffing before, let me tell you… the decorating takes HOURS.

Starting the decorating processs. I ended up needing 2 more packs of Oreos and part of another can of frosting.

But I think the results were well worth it.

For all the owls, I used halved Oreos with dark chocolate Hershey pieces for the eyes and candy corn for the beaks.

And since I’m a bit of a dork who’s into science and nature and animals, I ended up making three “types” of owls based on coloration.

First… the screech owls.

Screech owls: Devil's Food cupcake, dark chocolate frosting.

Then the tawny owls:

Tawny owls: Yellow cupcake, dark chocolate frosting.

It occurred to me after the fact that the tawny owls would have been nicely distinguished by being dipped in toasted coconut flakes. Next time I plan to try that.

Finally, my favorites (decorating-wise, at least) because I thought up the decorations for these ones, the snowy owls:

Snowy owls: white cupcake, vanilla frosting, coconut flakes.

A tip for the snowy owls: the Oreos aren’t going to stick to the frosting once you dip the cupcake in the coconut flakes, so you’ll need to spread a bit of extra frosting on the back of the Oreos to make them stick. I know… extra frosting… what a shame…

They’re pretty easy to make. The hardest part is not breaking the Oreos when you pull them apart (not to mention having to re-distribute the Oreo stuffing when half of it inevitably ends up on the other side of the cookie).

Anyway… give it a try today (or another day if you happen to have an owl-themed gathering in the future), or sometime just for fun! People will probably be impressed. And they’re really, really cute.

###

Written by Cat Viglienzoni

October 31, 2011 at 12:30 PM

Posted in Food & Drink

Tagged with , , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. these look great! 🙂

    Cayla

    October 31, 2011 at 12:41 PM

  2. these are so cool! i baked halloween cakes too, would love to know what you think 🙂
    http://laughteriscatching.com/2011/10/29/let-the-bake-off-begin-halloween-special/

    tinkerbelle86

    October 31, 2011 at 12:49 PM

  3. These are so cute!

    Alicia

    October 31, 2011 at 2:03 PM


Leave a Reply

