Cat Scan

News… and then some.

Farm Fair Livesiding, WCAX, December 27, 2011

leave a comment »

By Cat Viglienzoni — December 28, 2011

In my quest to learn multiple jobs outside what is specifically directed in my position, I decided to try livesiding a piece during our morning show yesterday. Our morning correspondent was out and we didn’t have anyone filling in for her. Plus, the show was done WAY early because the news was still quiet post-Christmas, so I had time to prep for it.

I can’t take credit for the material (clearly, that was shot by someone on the normal-people shift), only the presentation of it. It involved doing a live tease in the show open, and then my whole piece came up near the middle of the A block. I did this at the top of the 5am and 6am hours.

Right after this I had to sprint back upstairs and time out the show. (Yes, we can manage without me on the bridge in the A block because there aren’t any timing-essential elements like weather.) It’s definitely interesting livesiding in AND line producing a show. But like I said, the prep work was a lot less because I didn’t have to do much more than change the wording a bit and put all the coding for a liveside in. (Oh, and get makeup on, IFB, mic, scripts, etc.)

So, it’s not something I think I’ll do often, but it was good practice.

###

Written by Cat Viglienzoni

December 28, 2011 at 5:01 PM

Posted in My Work, Television, WCAX-TV

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

