Cat Scan

News… and then some.

Northern Lights, WCAX January 25, 2012

leave a comment »

By Cat Viglienzoni — January 26, 2012

I wish I could say this was a piece where I got to go out and see the Northern Lights (because that’s definitely on my bucket list).

Instead, it’s a piece that looks at whether the weekend’s large solar flare would send auroras down as far as Vermont. The answer: it could have, if the timing had been right. It aired once during the 6 p.m. news yesterday.

Instead, I used wire footage of the show that regions farther north (in Europe got) and interviewed (via Skype) a local science educator to figure out whether we’d see anything like they saw and if so, what. It was a quick piece but it was fun to do (who DOESN’T want to look at beautiful auroras and impressive solar flare imaging when they’re editing?).

I hope, though, that I can do a piece (maybe in the near future, from the way the sun’s activity seems to be heading) where I actually get to capture those lights for myself.

###

Written by Cat Viglienzoni

January 26, 2012 at 10:30 AM

Leave a Reply

