Cat Scan

News… and then some.

Tomie dePaola Interview, WCAX October 26, 2011

leave a comment »

By Cat Viglienzoni — February 11, 2012

I love books. Love them. So when I got the chance back in October 2011 to interview renowned children’s author Tomie dePaola, it was like meeting some sort of celebrity for me.

I grew up with many books, but my parents definitely introduced us to dePaola’s “Strega Nona” books early in life. After all, with their Italian cultural flavor, it resonated with our family. Plus, he just has a beautiful way of matching words and images to tell his stories.

Books Over Breakfast is a segment that airs on my morning show, and typically it incorporates live interviews with authors. However, in cases like dePaola or author Katherine Paterson (check later on the blog, I will post that interview too!), I will go out and do a reporter-style piece on them because their personal stories are as interesting as their works themselves. And he was such a funny, lively man to interview.

My only regret is that I was too busy to go buy a copy of the original “Strega Nona” and have him sign it for me… I gave the signed copy of “Strega Nona’s Gift” to our morning anchor Keagan, so he could read it to his young son.

###

Written by Cat Viglienzoni

February 11, 2012 at 2:14 PM

Leave a Reply

