Cat Scan

News… and then some.

WCAX “Our Body” Exhibit PKG, April 16, 2012

leave a comment »

By Cat Viglienzoni — April 19, 2012

There are times in my job where I get to go do some really interesting things and then share them with our viewers. Case in point was last weekend when I was filling in for one of our reporters on Saturday. That happened to coincide with the opening of the “Our Body: The Universe Within” exhibit at ECHO in downtown Burlington.

For those unfamiliar with the exhibit, it’s real human bodies that have been intricately dissected to show visitors what their bodies look like in a very real, 3D way.

The piece aired on Saturday, April 14, at 6 p.m. and 11 p.m., but I did my usual routine and livesided versions on Monday morning, since we were going to have to re-run the material anyway. These are Monday’s versions — first the package during the 5 a.m. hour and then the VO/SOT version in the 6 a.m.

This piece appealed to me because I (if you didn’t know) am a science junkie, and I find our bodies fascinating (if you stop and think about all the mechanics, if you will, that go into making each of us function for however long our lifetimes are, it’s really quite mind-boggling). And fortunately, I’m not squeamish either, so exhibits like that one don’t bother me.

Full disclaimer: I do volunteer at ECHO on Tuesdays in my spare time, again, because of my rooted interest in science and my love of passing interesting facts on to others. That said, I got no treatment that other media did not.

And of course, since I was already dressed up, I did the morning news update:

I have seen the exhibit a couple times now and it’s still impressive, I think. My only regret with those livesides was that one of our graphics systems was not cooperating, so other than one super (person’s name on the bottom of the screen), the rest didn’t show up. But other than that it went well.

###

Written by Cat Viglienzoni

April 19, 2012 at 11:31 AM

Leave a Reply

