Cat Scan

News… and then some.

Halloween Boo Brownies

leave a comment »

By Cat Viglienzoni — November 4, 2012

Halloween was in the middle of the work week this week… which doesn’t usually mean I can’t make cute desserts to bring to work to celebrate, but with Superstorm Sandy coverage and my volunteer job the day before Halloween, I just didn’t have time to make anything for that day.

Fortunately, a coworker had his Halloween party yesterday, so I was able to test out an idea I’d been wanting to try: Boo Brownies.

Boo Brownies — all finished on a platter.

They’re little ghosts atop the mini-muffin brownies, not the Scrubbing Bubbles mascots. And if the meringue had set the way it was supposed to, that would be a bit more obvious.

Next year, I’m using white frosting instead — I think it will taste better and take all of 5 minutes to get ready to decorate… as opposed to the meringue, which took a good couple hours because I made such a large batch.

My inspiration came from a cake on this blog, and I used the meringue recipe from there. I’ve copied it here for you.

Meringue Ghost Ingredients:
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
In a large bowl or double boiler, whisk together the egg whites, sugar and cream of tartar until well combined.  In the bottom part of the double boiler,  bring a small amount of water to a rolling simmer, and place the bowl over (but not touching) the boiling water.  While whisking frequently, heat the egg white/sugar mixture until the sugar has dissolved.  (Test by running a small amount between your fingers until you can’t feel the grit of the sugar.)  Take care to whisk frequently so you don’t cook the eggs!
Transfer mixture to the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, or use your hand mixer to beat the mixture until stiff white peaks form and the mixture has cooled to nearly room temperature.  This could take 10-15 minutes.  You want to make sure the meringue will hold stiff peaks so your ghosts stand without drooping.
Using a piping bag, swirl meringue into the shape of a ghost.  Use a small amount of black food coloring on the end of a toothpick to draw the eyes.
Allow meringue to dry before serving, about two hours.
_______
Like I said… next year I’m just using white frosting because I think it will hold its shape better and go better with the texture and flavor of the brownies. Plus, clearly mine didn’t turn out as cute as hers, even though I was at it with a hand mixer for probably a good half hour-plus to try to get the meringue stiff enough to stand up.

Kind-of flat, sad, droopy ghosts.

Also, meringue makes a BIG mess when you’re trying to transport it from bowl to piping bag or clean it up. Do NOT wait to clean up after this, and use lots of hot water to melt the sticky sugar.
Still, I’m glad I tried it, and now I know how I’ll go about making them the next time around!
###
Written by Cat Viglienzoni

November 4, 2012 at 8:38 AM

Leave a Reply

